2019 SPRC Award Recipients

Early Investigator Award – Emmanuelle Duceppe

Recognizes the research achievements of an early investigator whose work demonstrates research of high quality and scientific relevance in perioperative medicine and be reflective of their future research potential and leadership.


Researcher of the Year Award – Daniel Sessler

Given to a health care professional or scientist who has made substantial contributions through demonstration of scholarly output and leadership in perioperative research. The award recognizes an individual who has created a collaborative and innovative research program and has made substantial contributions to the professional and research growth of students, trainees and young staff.


Excellence in Clinical Teaching Award – Vikas Tandon

Recognizes an exceptional teacher who has demonstrated a commitment to excellence in education and/or education innovation to advance the practice of perioperative medicine.

This purpose of the award is to recognize individuals who have created a positive and respectful learning environment and their contributions have led to the professional growth of students, trainees and junior staff.


Distinguished Service Award – Davy Cheng

This award will recognize an individual of significant stature who has made outstanding contributions to Perioperative Medicine on a local, national and/or international scale.