The SPRC Board of Directors is comprised of leading perioperative specialists in anesthesia, medicine and surgery.

PJ Devereaux, BSc, MD, PhD, FRCPC

Dr. Devereaux is a cardiologist and has a PhD in clinical epidemiology.  He is the Director of the Division of Perioperative Care at McMaster University. He is the Scientific Leader of the Anesthesiology, Perioperative Medicine, and Surgical Research Group at the Population Health Research Institute.  Dr. Devereaux is a full Professor and University Scholar in the Departments of Health Research Methods, Evidence, and Impact (HEI) and Medicine at McMaster University.  He has published >325 peer reviewed papers and 80 book chapters, editorials, and commentaries.  He is supported by a Tier 1 Canadian Research Chair in Perioperative Medicine.

Ameen Patel, MB, FRCP(C), FACP

Dr. Patel is a member of the Division of General Internal Medicine and a Professor of Medicine at McMaster University. He completed his medical training at the Royal College of Surgeons in Ireland and his postgraduate training in New York (New York Medical College), Boston (Tuft’s University) and Hamilton (McMaster University).

Dr. Patel holds the William J. Walsh Chair in Medical Education and is the Vice Chair of Education for the Department of Medicine. He is the Division Director, Division of Education and Innovation.  He practices General Internal and Perioperative Medicine at the Juravinski Hospital and Cancer Centre in Hamilton.

Michael McGillion, BScN, PhD

Dr. Michael McGillion is an Associate Professor, a University Scholar and holds the Heart and Stroke Foundation/Michael G. DeGroote Endowed Chair of Cardiovascular Nursing Research at McMaster University. He is also a Scientist at the Population Health Research Institute in Hamilton, Ontario. His research program focuses on remote automated monitoring and virtual recovery support models for people recovering from cardiac, vascular and other forms of surgery.

Dr. Maria Tiboni, MD, FRCPD

Dr. Tiboni is an Assistant Professor of Medicine at McMaster University and staff physician at St. Joseph’s Hospital in Hamilton.  She is also the Medical Director of the Bariatric Program at St. Joseph’s Hospital. Her interests include perioperative medicine and bariatric medicine, hospital medicine and resident/student education.

Emmanuelle Duceppe

Dr. Duceppe is Clinician Researcher at the CHUM Research Centre and Clinical Assistant Professor in the Department of Medicine, Université de Montréal.

Her research interests include: Prediction of preoperative risk in non-cardiac surgery; Perioperative interventions and clinical outcomes in non-cardiac surgery; and Biomarkers for prediction and early identification of perioperative complications;  She was involved in large perioperative studies in non-cardiac surgery, including the VISION Study and MANAGE Trial, POISE 2 and POISE 3 Trials.

Dr. Claudia Gomez, MD,  FRCPC

Fellowships in Perioperative Anesthesia and Acute Pain Management, University of Ottawa.

Dr Gomez is currently staff anesthesiologist at the Ottawa Hospital, Lecturer with the Department of Anesthesia and Pain Medicine. Module Lead in Acute Pain Management for the competency by design anesthesia residency program

Manoj M. Lalu, MD, PhD, FRCPC

Dr. Lalu is an Assistant Professor in the Department of Anesthesiology and Pain Medicine at University of Ottawa, and an Associate Scientist at the Ottawa Hospital Research Institute Clinical Epidemiology and Regenerative Medicine Programs. He is the lead for Trauma Anesthesia at The Ottawa Hospital.

Erin Sloan, MD, FRCPC

Dr. Sloan obtained her MD from UBC in 2009 and completed her Internal Medicine Residency at UBC in 2013. She completed her UBC GIM Fellowship in 2016, including a perioperative vascular medicine research and clinical fellowship at McMaster University.  Dr. Sloan is a member of the planning committee for the annual Perioperative Care Congress (PCC). The PCC is a unique event that brings together world renowned researchers, clinical experts, guideline committee members, allied health and learners from medicine, anesthesia and surgical disciplines.  Dr. Sloan is a part of a multidisciplinary group that is working to improve perioperative evaluation and management, including the development of a MINS (myocardial injury after noncardiac surgery) protocol. She is also a member of the recruitment committee for the UBC Division of General Internal Medicine.

Sadeesh Srinathan,  MD, MSc, FRCSC, FRCS C-Th

Dr. Srinathan is a Thoracic Surgeon at the Health Sciences Centre in Winnipeg. He obtained his undergraduate and MD degrees at McMaster University. His subsequent training and travels took him to Montreal (completing General Surgery), St. Louis (Research fellowship) and eventually Birmingham, UK where he trained in Cardiac and Thoracic Surgery. He obtained his MSc in Health Research Methodology at McMaster University in 2009.

He has been involved in a number of studies in perioperative medicine, including VISION, POISE-2, MANAGE and COP-AF. He is married to Beth and is the tired father of 4 boys.